OCS members recognized at NE Wing Conference

Awards presentation at the NE Wing Conference General Assembly

The 2015 Nebraska Wing Conference was held on March 27th-28th at Camp Ashland, which doubles as the Nebraska Wing headquarters. The weekend began with registration and a meet and greet on Friday evening.  Saturday morning activities began promptly at 8am. The General Assembly began with the Call to Order, followed by Commanders’ Roll Call, safety briefing, and Col. Darrell Nelson, Nebraska Wing Commander gave the State of the Wing address.  Awards were presented to Cadets and Seniors from across the wing, and the State of the Region address was given by Col. Regina Aye, NCR Vice Commander.

Following the General Assembly, various breakout sessions were offered, ranging from Aerospace Education, Finance, Transportation, Inspector General, Professional Development, Operations, Communications, Safety, Emergency Services (air and ground), etc.

The ICUT Refresher breakout session was led by Col. Steve Kuddes.

The “Tech Tools for Pilots” presentation was led by Maj. David Coover and Maj. John Pineda

Following the conclusion of the Wing Conference day schedule, the attendees traveled to the evening banquet to enjoy an evening midwestern style meal at the “Round the Bend Steakhouse” near Ashland, Nebraska.   Following the dinner, the guest speaker for the evening, retired Brigadier General Dayle Williamson, addressed the guests, and listed the accomplishments of the Civil Air Patrol since its inception one week before the attack on Pearl Harbor.  He went on to compliment Civil Air Patrol members as the “Most Well-Trained Volunteers” in the country.

Following his speech the awards ceremony for the year were presented.  There are too many to list, but the Omaha Composite Squadron was highly recognized for its successful dedication to both Cadets and Seniors.  The following 2015 Awards were presented to members of the squadron:

  • Quality Cadet Unit Award
  • Air Force Association Award – C/2dLt Ethan Copple
  • NE Wing Rickenbacker Award – C/2dLt Ethan Copple
  • Frank G. Brewer Aerospace Cadet – C/Col. Christopher Pineda
  • Gen. Carl Spaatz Award – C/Col Christopher Pineda
  • NE Wing Cadet of the Year – C/Col Christopher Pineda
  • North Central Region Cadet of the Year – C/Col Christopher Pineda

Capt. David Lewis receives the Quality Unit Award from NE Wing Commander, Col. Darrell Nelson.

C/2dLt Copple receives the Nebraska Rickenbacker Cadet of the Year award.

C/2dLt Copple also received the Air Force Association Award.

C/Col. Christopher Pineda was selected as the Frank G. Brewer Memorial Aerospace Cadet of the Year.

C/Col Christopher Pineda was Selected as the Nebraska Wing Cadet of the Year.








C/Col Pineda received the General Carl Spaatz Award and the rank of Cadet Colonel from Retired Brigadier General Dayle Williamson.








NCR Vice Commander Regena Aye, presents C/Col. Christopher Pineda with the Region Cadet of the Year Award.

C/Col Christopher Pineda, addressed the guests after receiving his Col. Spaatz award, thanking everyone who helped him along the path to his Spaatz achievement, and encouraged all cadets to work hard to achieve the goals they set for themselves, reminding them to remain humble and don’t demand respect from your peers, but earn EARN that respect.

Congratulations to all the Members of the Omaha Composite Squadron for their hard work and determination.  We look forward to another year of adventure and excellence.  Semper Vigilans!



Comments are closed.